California first-time buyer programs

First-time home buyer programs in California

CalHFA pairs its 30-year first mortgages with loans you don't repay until you sell or refinance: MyHome (up to 3.5% of the price), ZIP for closing costs and MyAccess. GSFA Platinum adds up to 5.5% with no first-time requirement. The biggest checks come from cities and counties — up to $500,000 from San Francisco's DALP, $161,000 from Los Angeles' LIPA and $125,000 in the City of San Diego.

  • 13programs checked on official pages: 6 statewide, 7 city and county
  • $192,000–$325,000CalHFA income limit, by county
  • $31,127cash to close at 3.5% down on the $719,000 median-listed home
  • 16.1%of California's first-lien home-purchase loans were FHA in 2025 (U.S. 18.7%)

Down payment assistance in California

Checked on official pages on October 22, 2026

Statewide programs

Statewide

MyHome Assistance Program

CalHFA

Up to 3.5% of the price or appraised value with an FHA first mortgage; up to 3% with conventional, VA or USDA

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentDeferred: no payments until the home is sold, refinanced or the first mortgage is paid in full

Works withMust be combined with a CalHFA first mortgage

Statewide

Zero Interest Program (ZIP)

CalHFA

2% or 3% of the first mortgage, for closing costs and prepaid items only

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentDeferred (CalHFA subordinate loans are silent seconds)

Works withOnly with a CalPLUS FHA or CalPLUS Conventional first mortgage (slightly higher rate than CalHFA's standard loan)

Statewide

MyAccess

CalHFA

2.5% of the first mortgage, for down payment or closing costs

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentDeferred (CalHFA subordinate loans are silent seconds)

Works withOnly with a CalPLUS Access FHA or Conventional first mortgage; MyHome is mandatory alongside it

Statewide

CalHFA first mortgages (FHA, VA, USDA, Conventional, CalPLUS)

CalHFA

30-year fixed-rate first mortgage up to FHA county / conforming loan limits

  • First mortgage Lower rate or first loan

RepaymentRegular monthly payments

Works withThe anchor loan for MyHome, ZIP and MyAccess

Statewide

California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan

CalHFA

Up to 20% of the price or appraised value, capped at $150,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentRepay the loan plus a share of the home's appreciation when you sell, transfer or pay off the first mortgage

Works withDream For All Conventional first mortgage (mandatory)

Funding round by random selection; the 2026 application window ran February 24 to March 16, 2026

Statewide

GSFA Platinum

Golden State Finance Authority (public joint powers authority)

Up to 5.5% of the first mortgage (Standard: up to 5% as a second mortgage; extra gift for some options)

  • Repayable second Monthly payments
  • Grant Never repaid

RepaymentStandard option: 15-year second mortgage with monthly payments at the first-mortgage rate; any gift portion is not repaid

Works withFHA, VA, USDA or conventional first mortgage from a GSFA participating lender

City and county programs

City City of Los Angeles

Low Income Purchase Assistance (LIPA)

Los Angeles Housing Department (LAHD)

Up to $161,000 for down payment, closing costs and acquisition

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment0% interest, no monthly payments; principal plus a share of appreciation due on sale, transfer, first-mortgage payoff or after 30 years

Works withFirst mortgage from a participating lender; buyer puts at least 1% down

Loan reservations follow LAHD's published schedule because funds are limited

County Unincorporated Los Angeles County and HOP participating cities

Home Ownership Program (HOP80 / HOP120)

Los Angeles County Development Authority (LACDA)

Up to $100,000 or 20% of the price, whichever is less

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment0% interest, deferred repayment with shared equity when the home is sold, transferred or no longer owner-occupied

Works withFirst mortgage from a HOP participating lender; buyer invests at least 1% of their own funds

Applications first-come, first-served

City City of San Diego

SDHC First-Time Homebuyer Program — City of San Diego, low income

San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC)

Deferred loan up to 17% of the price (max $125,000) plus a closing-cost grant of 4% of the price up to $10,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance
  • Grant Never repaid

Repayment3% simple interest, deferred; closing-cost grant forgiven

Works withFixed-rate first mortgage

Funds available (per SDHC)

City City of San Diego

SDHC First-Time Homebuyer Middle-Income Program

San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC)

$40,000 deferred down payment loan plus a $10,000 closing-cost grant

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance
  • Grant Never repaid

Repayment4% simple interest; deferred for 5 years, then 120 monthly payments; grant forgiven after 3 years of owner occupancy

County 12 participating cities and unincorporated San Diego County

SDHC County of San Diego Low-Income Program

San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC) for the County of San Diego

Deferred loan up to 22% of the price plus a closing-cost loan of 4% of the price up to $10,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment3% simple interest, deferred

Funds available (per SDHC)

City City and County of San Francisco

Downpayment Assistance Loan Program (DALP)

San Francisco Mayor's Office of Housing and Community Development (MOHCD)

Up to $500,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentDeferred; repay principal plus a proportional share of appreciation at resale or maturity

Works withFirst mortgage from a MOHCD-approved lender; buyer contributes cash

Loans are awarded through an annual lottery; check MOHCD for the current round (terms from the September 2025 manual)

County Brea, Cypress, Dana Point, La Palma, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Woods, Los Alamitos, Placentia, San Juan Capistrano, Seal Beach, Stanton, Villa Park, Yorba Linda and unincorporated Orange County

Mortgage Assistance Program (MAP)

County of Orange, OC Housing & Community Development

Up to $120,000 (low income, 80% AMI) or $80,000 (moderate income, 120% AMI)

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment3% simple interest, deferred payment, 30-year term

Works withBuyer puts at least 1% down

Mortgage credit certificate

CalHFA's mortgage credit certificate program is closed (by April 2019); City of Los Angeles Housing Department (LAHD) still issues them locally. California's MCC status, sources and calculator.

Amounts, limits and funding change during the year, and many local programs run out of money before the year ends — confirm current terms with the agency or a participating lender before you apply. Spotted an outdated program? Tell us.

California first-time home buyer requirements, program by program

What each program's own terms ask of you. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't publish it — the agency or the first-mortgage lender sets it. Most programs count you as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned a home in three years; see the federal definitions and exceptions.

California first-time home buyer requirements, program by program
ProgramFirst-time buyerMin. credit scoreIncome limitPrice limitHomebuyer education
MyHome Assistance Program Required 640Set by the CalHFA first mortgage: 640 for FHA/VA/USDA (DTI up to 45%), 680 for conventional; 700 if DTI is 45–50% CalHFA county income limits No sales price limit Required (homebuyer education and counseling)
Zero Interest Program (ZIP) Not stated 640Through the CalPLUS first mortgage: 640 FHA, 680 conventional CalHFA county income limits No sales price limit Required
MyAccess Not stated 640Through the CalPLUS Access first mortgage: 640 FHA, 680 conventional CalHFA county income limits No sales price limit Required
CalHFA first mortgages (FHA, VA, USDA, Conventional, CalPLUS) Required only when paired with MyHome or other CalHFA down payment help 640640 FHA/VA/USDA, 680 conventional; 700 with DTI above 45% CalHFA county income limits No sales price limit Required for first-time buyers
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan First-time and first-generation (at least one borrower) 680 Separate Dream For All county income limits No sales price limit 8-hour homebuyer education plus CalHFA shared-appreciation education
GSFA Platinum Not required 640 GSFA DPA income limits (low-to-moderate) No purchase price limit; first mortgage up to $832,750 Not stated
Low Income Purchase Assistance (LIPA) Required (no ownership interest in the last three years) 660 80% of AMI by household size ($93,300 for one person in 2026) $956,465 8-hour homebuyer education class plus housing counseling
Home Ownership Program (HOP80 / HOP120) Required (no home owned in the last three years) Not stated 80% AMI (HOP80) or 120% AMI (HOP120) by household size $700,000 (HOP80) / $850,000 (HOP120) 8-hour homebuyer education seminar from a HUD-approved agency
SDHC First-Time Homebuyer Program — City of San Diego, low income Required Not stated 80% of San Diego AMI $883,025 (effective December 2025) Homebuyer education class and pre-purchase counseling
SDHC First-Time Homebuyer Middle-Income Program Required Not stated 80% to 150% of San Diego AMI $1,250,000 Not stated
SDHC County of San Diego Low-Income Program Required Not stated 80% of San Diego AMI $743,000 (effective June 1, 2026) Not stated
Downpayment Assistance Loan Program (DALP) Required (no household member owned residential property in the prior three years) Not stated Up to 200% of AMI Not stated Homebuyer education before applying; post-purchase workshops expected
Mortgage Assistance Program (MAP) Required Not stated 80% or 120% of AMI by household size (State HCD limits, June 2026) Up to 85% of the Orange County median sales price Homebuyer education workshop and one-on-one housing counseling

California income limits by county

CalHFA sets one household income limit per county, whatever the household size, for its first mortgages and MyHome, ZIP and MyAccess; Dream For All uses its own, lower table. There is no sales price limit. Effective Jun 30, 2026.

California income limits by county
CountyCalHFA programsDream For All
Alameda$322,000$257,000
Alpine$256,000$205,000
Amador$218,000$175,000
Butte$192,000$153,000
Calaveras$203,000$162,000
Colusa$192,000$153,000
Contra Costa$322,000$257,000
Del Norte$192,000$153,000
El Dorado$245,000$196,000
Fresno$192,000$153,000
Glenn$192,000$153,000
Humboldt$192,000$153,000
Imperial$192,000$153,000
Inyo$192,000$153,000
Kern$192,000$153,000
Kings$192,000$153,000
Lake$192,000$153,000
Lassen$192,000$153,000
Los Angeles$214,000$171,000
Madera$192,000$153,000
Marin$325,000$310,000
Mariposa$192,000$153,000
Mendocino$196,000$156,000
Merced$192,000$153,000
Modoc$192,000$153,000
Mono$238,000$190,000
Monterey$218,000$175,000
Napa$325,000$262,000
Nevada$278,000$222,000
Orange$274,000$219,000
Placer$245,000$196,000
Plumas$192,000$153,000
Riverside$210,000$168,000
Sacramento$245,000$196,000
San Benito$277,000$222,000
San Bernardino$210,000$168,000
San Diego$259,000$207,000
San Francisco$325,000$310,000
San Joaquin$214,000$171,000
San Luis Obispo$256,000$205,000
San Mateo$325,000$310,000
Santa Barbara$235,000$188,000
Santa Clara$325,000$310,000
Santa Cruz$271,000$217,000
Shasta$201,000$161,000
Sierra$192,000$153,000
Siskiyou$192,000$153,000
Solano$246,000$197,000
Sonoma$264,000$211,000
Stanislaus$195,000$156,000
Sutter$201,000$161,000
Tehama$192,000$153,000
Trinity$192,000$153,000
Tulare$192,000$153,000
Tuolumne$202,000$161,000
Ventura$268,000$214,000
Yolo$269,000$215,000
Yuba$201,000$161,000

Sources: All CalHFA first mortgages and subordinate loans (MyHome, ZIP, MyAccess); excludes Dream For All (calhfa.ca.gov); Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan (calhfa.ca.gov). Limits are reset every year — check the agency's current table before you apply.

Will the help cover your down payment in California?

The 10 counties with the most home purchases, priced at each county's median list price. CalHFA MyHome: up to 3.5% of the price with a CalHFA FHA loan. In 6 of 10, the income it takes to carry that home still fits under the program's limit.

Will the help cover your down payment in California?
CountyMedian list priceCash to closeMyHome coversYou still needIncome to affordCalHFA income limitFits the program?
Los Angeles $950,000 $39,212 $33,250 $5,962 $317,000 $214,000 Income needed is above the limit
Riverside $629,000 $27,977 $22,015 $5,962 $210,000 $210,000 Yes
San Diego $888,450 $37,058 $31,096 $5,962 $296,000 $259,000 Income needed is above the limit
San Bernardino $531,944 $24,580 $18,618 $5,962 $177,000 $210,000 Yes
Orange $1,287,500 $51,025 $45,063 $5,962 $429,000 $274,000 Income needed is above the limit
Sacramento $531,950 $24,580 $18,618 $5,962 $177,000 $245,000 Yes
Santa Clara $1,409,500 $55,295 $49,333 $5,962 $470,000 $325,000 Income needed is above the limit
Alameda $929,944 $38,510 $32,548 $5,962 $310,000 $322,000 Yes
Contra Costa $752,750 $32,308 $26,346 $5,962 $251,000 $322,000 Yes
Kern $396,500 $19,840 $13,878 $5,962 $132,000 $192,000 Yes

Estimates, not a quote. Median list price: Realtor.com, October 2026. Cash to close = 3.5% down (the FHA minimum) + $5,962, California's average closing costs including transfer taxes (closing costs by state). Income to afford = principal and interest at 7.18% (Freddie Mac 30-year average), the 0.55% FHA annual premium, California's 0.76% effective property tax and 0.20% homeowners insurance, kept within 28% of gross income. The program also has to accept the home and you — see the requirements above.

Calculator

Cash to close with and without help in California

Prefilled with California's $719,000 median list price, 3.5% down, 0.8% closing costs and MyHome Assistance Program's terms. Change any field to match your quote.

Without help$693,835 first mortgage
$30,917cash to close
Down payment
$25,165
Closing costs
$5,752
Monthly payment
$4,700principal + interest
With deferred loan$25,165 of help applied
$5,752cash to close · $25,165 less
First mortgage payment
$4,700same rate as without help
Total monthly
$4,700
Owed on the help if you sell in year 7
$25,165
What the help is worth if you sell after 7 years$0
  • Cash it saved at closing+$25,165
  • Still owed on it at the sale−$25,165

A deferred loan has no payments, but it is a debt: it is repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage.

30-year fixed first mortgage; monthly figures are principal and interest only. Assistance is capped at your down payment plus closing costs. For the full monthly payment with California's taxes and insurance, use the California mortgage calculator.

Low-down-payment loans in California

Most assistance sits on top of an FHA, VA or USDA loan, or a 97% conventional one. Of the 248,603 conventional, FHA and VA first mortgages made to buy a home in California in 2025, 16.1% were FHA and 6.2% VA, against 18.7% and 9.7% nationally. The median 30-year fixed FHA purchase loan was $485,000 (U.S. $305,000), and those borrowers paid a median $17,102 in total loan costs (U.S. $11,291).

Source: HMDA 2025 loan-level records, first-lien home-purchase originations. HMDA doesn't record whether a borrower is a first-time buyer, and the lenders listed aren't necessarily approved for CalHFA's programs — find those through CalHFA — find a loan officer.

Most FHA purchase loans in California, 2025
LenderFHA purchase loansShare
United Shore Financial Services, LLC7,13217.8%
Rocket Mortgage, LLC2,1965.5%
Ocmbc, Inc.1,6044.0%
Kind Lending, LLC1,5493.9%
Lennar Mortgage, LLC1,4083.5%

287 lenders made FHA purchase loans in California. Compare them on California mortgage lenders.

California first-time home buyer FAQ

What is the income limit for first time home buyers in California?

It depends on the program and the county. CalHFA's 2026 limit for its first mortgages, MyHome, ZIP and MyAccess runs from $192,000 to $325,000 (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara) — $214,000 in Los Angeles and $259,000 in San Diego, for any household size.

Dream For All uses lower limits ($171,000 in Los Angeles). City programs use area median income: LA's LIPA tops out at $93,300 for one person.

Is California giving $150,000 for first-time home buyers?

Only through Dream For All, and not right now. CalHFA's shared-appreciation loan covers up to 20% of the price, capped at $150,000, for first-generation, first-time buyers; you repay it plus a share of the home's appreciation when you sell or refinance.

Applications are chosen at random, and the 2026 window ran February 24 to March 16. MyHome — up to 3.5% — is available year-round.

Who qualifies for down payment assistance in California?

For CalHFA's programs: a first-time buyer (no home owned and occupied in the past three years), household income under the county limit, an owner-occupied home, homebuyer education and counseling, and a credit score of at least 640 with an FHA loan or 680 with a conventional one (700 if your debt-to-income ratio is above 45%). GSFA Platinum is open to repeat buyers with scores from 640.

Can I get down payment assistance in California if I owned a home before?

Yes, through GSFA Platinum, which has no first-time requirement: up to 5% of the loan as a 15-year second with monthly payments, plus a gift portion in some options.

CalHFA's MyHome and Dream For All require first-time buyers, as do the Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco and Orange County programs.

What is the biggest negative when using down payment assistance in California?

Most California help is a loan, not a gift. CalHFA's seconds come due when you sell or refinance; Dream For All, LA's LIPA, LA County's HOP and San Francisco's DALP also take a share of your home's appreciation; and the CalPLUS first mortgages behind ZIP and MyAccess carry a slightly higher rate. Compare the total cost with and without the program before you choose.

How much do you need to make to buy a house in California?

About $240,000 a year for a home at the $719,000 state median list price with 3.5% down, if the $5,593 monthly payment (principal, interest, FHA premium, tax and insurance) stays within 28% of gross income — above CalHFA's $214,000 limit in Los Angeles. A $500,000 home needs about $167,000.

More for California buyers

How we built this page: each program was read on its official page — the agency's, city's or county's own site, or the Internet Archive's copy of that page where the site blocked our checker — on October 22, 2026, and every amount and limit above appears on the source we link. By the Editorial Team; see our editorial policy and methodology.