Florida first-time buyer programs

First-time home buyer programs in Florida

Florida Housing's down payment help only comes with its own 30-year first mortgage (640 minimum credit score): Florida Assist up to $10,000 deferred, the FL HLP second of $12,500 at 3%, a 3%–5% forgivable second on conventional loans, and Hometown Heroes — 5% of the loan, $10,000 to $35,000, for teachers, health-care workers, first responders and other eligible occupations. Orange County (up to $70,000), Miami-Dade (up to $35,000), Jacksonville (up to $25,000) and Broward (up to $120,000, with new funds expected in November 2026) add local money.

  • 9programs checked on official pages: 5 statewide, 4 city and county
  • $148,050–$214,950Hometown Heroes income limit, by county
  • $22,839cash to close at 3.5% down on the $409,900 median-listed home
  • 24.4%of Florida's first-lien home-purchase loans were FHA in 2025 (U.S. 18.7%)

Down payment assistance in Florida

Checked on official pages on October 22, 2026

Statewide programs

Statewide

Florida Housing Homebuyer Loan Program (first mortgages)

Florida Housing Finance Corporation

30-year fixed-rate first mortgage through participating lenders

  • First mortgage Lower rate or first loan

RepaymentRegular monthly payments

Works withRequired for any Florida Housing down payment assistance (no stand-alone DPA)

Statewide

Florida Assist (FL Assist)

Florida Housing Finance Corporation

Up to $10,000 with FHA, VA, USDA or conventional loans

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment0% deferred second mortgage, not forgivable; due in full on sale, transfer, refinance, first-mortgage payoff or when you stop living in the home

Works withFlorida Housing first mortgage only

Statewide

Florida Homeownership Loan Program (FL HLP) Second Mortgage

Florida Housing Finance Corporation

$12,500

  • Repayable second Monthly payments

Repayment3% fully amortizing second mortgage, 30-year term, with a monthly payment; balance due on sale, transfer, refinance or first-mortgage payoff

Works withFlorida Housing first mortgage only; the payment counts in your debt-to-income ratio

Statewide

HFA Preferred / HFA Advantage PLUS Second Mortgage (3%, 4% or 5%)

Florida Housing Finance Corporation

3%, 4% or 5% of the total loan amount

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentForgiven 20% a year over its 5-year term

Works withOnly with Florida Housing's conventional HFA Preferred or HFA Advantage first mortgage

Statewide

Florida Hometown Heroes Housing Program

Florida Housing Finance Corporation

Up to 5% of the first mortgage (minimum $10,000, maximum $35,000)

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment0% non-amortizing 30-year deferred second mortgage, not forgivable; due on sale, refinance, transfer or when you stop living in the home

Works withHometown Heroes FHA, VA, RD or conventional first mortgage

The 2025-26 money ran out in February 2026; the Legislature appropriated another $50 million for 2026-27 and Florida Housing lists the 2026 program rules — confirm with a lender that funds remain

City and county programs

County Orange County

Down Payment Assistance Program

Orange County Government, Housing and Community Development

$70,000 (very low income, 50% of median), $40,000 (low income, 80%) or $10,000 (moderate income, 120%)

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentTerms in the county's program guidelines — check with the county

Works withFirst mortgage from a lender

County Miami-Dade County

Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program

Miami-Dade County Public Housing and Community Development

Interest-free loan up to $35,000

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentInterest-free loan — repayment terms from the county

City Jacksonville / Duval County

Headstart to Homeownership (H2H)

City of Jacksonville Housing and Community Development

Up to $25,000 for down payment and closing costs

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentTerms from the City — email the program for interest rate and terms

Works withApproved lender; do not sign a sales contract before approval

Subject to funding limitations

County Participating Broward County cities and unincorporated Broward

Homebuyer Purchase Assistance (HPA)

Broward County Housing and Urban Planning Division

Up to $120,000 per property, depending on the city (up to $80,000 in most)

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentTerms from the County; the help can go to the down payment, closing costs, principal reduction or a rate buydown

Works with30-year first mortgage that meets Broward County lending guidelines; the lender reserves the funds

Most participating cities show no funds right now; new allocations are expected in November 2026 (flyer updated August 2026)

Mortgage credit certificate

Florida Housing's mortgage credit certificate program is closed (since December 31, 2020); Escambia County Housing Finance Authority, Housing Finance Authority of Broward County still issue them locally. Florida's MCC status, sources and calculator.

Amounts, limits and funding change during the year, and many local programs run out of money before the year ends — confirm current terms with the agency or a participating lender before you apply. Spotted an outdated program? Tell us.

Florida first-time home buyer requirements, program by program

What each program's own terms ask of you. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't publish it — the agency or the first-mortgage lender sets it. Most programs count you as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned a home in three years; see the federal definitions and exceptions.

Florida first-time home buyer requirements, program by program
ProgramFirst-time buyerMin. credit scoreIncome limitPrice limitHomebuyer education
Florida Housing Homebuyer Loan Program (first mortgages) Required (IRS definition: no owned and occupied primary residence in the last three years) 640 County income limits County purchase price limits Approved homebuyer education required
Florida Assist (FL Assist) Required (through the Florida Housing first mortgage) 640 County income limits County purchase price limits Required
Florida Homeownership Loan Program (FL HLP) Second Mortgage Required (through the Florida Housing first mortgage) 640 County income limits County purchase price limits Required
HFA Preferred / HFA Advantage PLUS Second Mortgage (3%, 4% or 5%) Required (through the Florida Housing first mortgage) 640 County income limits County purchase price limits Required
Florida Hometown Heroes Housing Program Required; full-time workers for a Florida employer in eligible occupations (health care, schools, first responders, public safety, courts, child care), servicemembers, and veterans employed full-time in Florida Not stated 2026 Hometown Heroes county income limits (see income-limits/FL.json) Not stated Not stated
Down Payment Assistance Program Required Not stated 2026 Orange County limits by household size (area median family income $97,600) Not stated Pre-purchase homebuyer education required
Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program Required (first home) Not stated Income limits by household size on the county page Not stated Not stated
Headstart to Homeownership (H2H) Must not currently own a home Not stated At or below 80% of Duval County AMI Not stated Not stated
Homebuyer Purchase Assistance (HPA) No residential property owned in the previous three years Not stated 80% of AMI in most cities ($71,000 for one person, $101,400 for four); 120% of AMI in some $679,324 Homebuyer education class from a South Florida HUD-approved agency

Florida income limits by county

Florida Housing publishes county limits for Hometown Heroes (any household size). Its regular homebuyer program also uses county income and price limits; ask a participating lender for your county's figures. Hometown Heroes limits apply to reservations from May 6, 2026.

Florida income limits by county
CountyIncome limit: FHA, VA, HFA AdvantageIncome limit: USDAMax FHA loan
Alachua$156,000$119,850$541,287
Baker$150,900$119,850$580,750
Bay$148,350$119,850$541,287
Bradford$148,050$119,850$541,287
Brevard$149,400$119,850$541,287
Broward$190,200$131,200$667,000
Calhoun$148,050$119,850$541,287
Charlotte$148,050$119,850$541,287
Citrus$148,050$119,850$541,287
Clay$163,050$119,850$580,750
Collier$181,500$132,150$764,750
Columbia$148,050$119,850$541,287
De Soto$148,050$119,850$541,287
Dixie$148,050$119,850$541,287
Duval$163,050$119,850$580,750
Escambia$148,050$119,850$541,287
Flagler$156,450$119,850$541,287
Franklin$148,050$119,850$541,287
Gadsen$149,250$119,850$541,287
Gilchrist$156,000$119,850$541,287
Glades$148,050$119,850$541,287
Gulf$148,050$119,850$541,287
Hamilton$148,050$119,850$541,287
Hardee$148,050$119,850$541,287
Hendry$148,050$119,850$541,287
Hernando$172,050$119,850$541,287
Highlands$148,050$119,850$541,287
Hillsborough$172,050$119,850$541,287
Holmes$148,050$119,850$541,287
Indian River$153,450$119,850$541,287
Jackson$148,050$119,850$541,287
Jefferson$149,250$119,850$541,287
Lafayette$148,050$119,850$541,287
Lake$172,350$119,850$541,287
Lee$168,600$119,850$541,287
Leon$149,250$119,850$541,287
Levy$148,050$119,850$541,287
Liberty$148,050$119,850$541,287
Madison$148,050$119,850$541,287
Manatee$171,150$119,850$547,400
Marion$148,050$119,850$541,287
Martin$153,600$119,850$603,750
Miami-Dade$204,300$131,200$667,000
Monroe$214,950$151,900$990,150
Nassau$163,050$119,850$580,750
Okaloosa$160,050$123,050$603,750
Okeechobee$148,050$119,850$541,287
Orange$172,350$119,850$541,287
Osceola$172,350$119,850$541,287
Palm Beach$192,750$134,400$667,000
Pasco$172,050$119,850$541,287
Pinellas$172,050$119,850$541,287
Polk$148,050$119,850$541,287
Putnam$148,050$119,850$541,287
Santa Rosa$148,050$119,850$541,287
Sarasota$171,150$123,750$547,400
Seminole$172,350$119,850$541,287
St. Johns$163,050$119,850$580,750
St. Lucie$153,600$119,850$603,750
Sumter$156,150$119,850$541,287
Suwanee$148,050$119,850$541,287
Taylor$148,050$119,850$541,287
Union$148,050$119,850$541,287
Volusia$148,650$119,850$541,287
Wakulla$150,600$119,850$541,287
Walton$148,050$119,850$603,750
Washington$148,050$119,850$541,287

Sources: Florida Hometown Heroes (TBA) (floridahousing.org). Limits are reset every year — check the agency's current table before you apply.

Will the help cover your down payment in Florida?

The 10 counties with the most home purchases, priced at each county's median list price. Hometown Heroes: 5% of the first mortgage, $10,000 minimum, $35,000 maximum (eligible occupations). In 9 of 10, the income it takes to carry that home still fits under the program's limit.

Will the help cover your down payment in Florida?
CountyMedian list priceCash to closeHometown Heroes coversYou still needIncome to affordHometown Heroes income limitFits the program?
Miami-Dade $589,000 $29,107 $28,419 $688 $205,000 $204,300 Income needed is above the limit
Hillsborough $408,250 $22,781 $19,698 $3,083 $142,000 $172,050 Yes
Broward $380,000 $21,792 $18,335 $3,457 $132,000 $190,200 Yes
Palm Beach $472,000 $25,012 $22,774 $2,238 $165,000 $192,750 Yes
Lee $379,900 $21,789 $18,330 $3,458 $132,000 $168,600 Yes
Orange $424,950 $23,365 $20,504 $2,861 $148,000 $172,350 Yes
Polk $329,000 $20,007 $15,874 $4,133 $115,000 $148,050 Yes
Duval $299,950 $18,990 $14,473 $4,518 $105,000 $163,050 Yes
Pinellas $417,450 $23,103 $20,142 $2,961 $146,000 $172,050 Yes
Osceola $405,875 $22,698 $19,583 $3,114 $141,000 $172,350 Yes

Estimates, not a quote. Median list price: Realtor.com, October 2026. Cash to close = 3.5% down (the FHA minimum) + $8,492, Florida's average closing costs including transfer taxes (closing costs by state). Income to afford = principal and interest at 7.18% (Freddie Mac 30-year average), the 0.55% FHA annual premium, Florida's 0.76% effective property tax and 0.63% homeowners insurance, kept within 28% of gross income. The program also has to accept the home and you — see the requirements above.

Calculator

Cash to close with and without help in Florida

Prefilled with Florida's $410,000 median list price, 3.5% down, 2.1% closing costs and Florida Hometown Heroes Housing Program's terms. Change any field to match your quote.

Without help$395,650 first mortgage
$22,960cash to close
Down payment
$14,350
Closing costs
$8,610
Monthly payment
$2,680principal + interest
With deferred loan$19,783 of help applied
$3,177cash to close · $19,783 less
First mortgage payment
$2,680same rate as without help
Total monthly
$2,680
Owed on the help if you sell in year 7
$19,783
What the help is worth if you sell after 7 years$0
  • Cash it saved at closing+$19,783
  • Still owed on it at the sale−$19,783

A deferred loan has no payments, but it is a debt: it is repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage.

30-year fixed first mortgage; monthly figures are principal and interest only. Assistance is capped at your down payment plus closing costs. For the full monthly payment with Florida's taxes and insurance, use the Florida mortgage calculator.

Low-down-payment loans in Florida

Most assistance sits on top of an FHA, VA or USDA loan, or a 97% conventional one. Of the 282,272 conventional, FHA and VA first mortgages made to buy a home in Florida in 2025, 24.4% were FHA and 11.0% VA, against 18.7% and 9.7% nationally. The median 30-year fixed FHA purchase loan was $335,000 (U.S. $305,000), and those borrowers paid a median $12,326 in total loan costs (U.S. $11,291).

Source: HMDA 2025 loan-level records, first-lien home-purchase originations. HMDA doesn't record whether a borrower is a first-time buyer, and the lenders listed aren't necessarily approved for Florida Housing's programs — find those through Florida Housing — lender locator.

Most FHA purchase loans in Florida, 2025
LenderFHA purchase loansShare
United Shore Financial Services, LLC10,59215.4%
DHI Mortgage Company, Ltd.5,9868.7%
Lennar Mortgage, LLC4,1636.0%
Rocket Mortgage, LLC2,4243.5%
Crosscountry Mortgage, Inc.2,2623.3%

492 lenders made FHA purchase loans in Florida. Compare them on Florida mortgage lenders.

Florida first-time home buyer FAQ

What kind of grants can first-time homebuyers get in Florida?

Florida Housing has no outright grant, but its 3%, 4% or 5% PLUS second is forgiven 20% a year over five years on a conventional HFA Preferred or HFA Advantage loan.

Florida Assist ($10,000) and Hometown Heroes ($10,000–$35,000) are 0% deferred loans that are not forgiven — you repay them when you sell, refinance or move out.

Is Florida Hometown Heroes still available?

The 2025-26 money ran out on February 20, 2026. For 2026-27 the Legislature appropriated another $50 million, and Florida Housing's page lists the 2026 program rules: 5% of the first mortgage ($10,000 minimum, $35,000 maximum) for first-time buyers in eligible jobs who work full-time for a Florida employer, with 2026 limits for reservations from May 6, 2026. Confirm with a participating lender that funds remain before you count on it.

What is the income limit for Florida Hometown Heroes?

It depends on the county: $204,300 in Miami-Dade, $190,200 in Broward, $172,350 in Orange, $172,050 in Hillsborough and $163,050 in Duval for FHA, VA and HFA Advantage loans, any household size — $148,050 to $214,950 statewide. USDA loans use lower limits.

What are the benefits of being a first-time home buyer in Florida?

Access to Florida Housing's 30-year fixed first mortgage and its down payment seconds, which are only offered with that loan. You count as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned and lived in a home in the past three years.

You need a 640 credit score, approved homebuyer education, and income and price under your county's limits.

Can I afford a $300,000 house on a $70,000 salary in Florida?

It is a stretch: with 3.5% down, the payment including FHA premium, Florida's 0.76% effective property tax and insurance is about $2,440 a month, which needs about $105,000 of income at the 28% rule.

Car and card payments lower what a lender approves; down payment help lowers the cash, not the payment.

More for Florida buyers

How we built this page: each program was read on its official page — the agency's, city's or county's own site, or the Internet Archive's copy of that page where the site blocked our checker — on October 22, 2026, and every amount and limit above appears on the source we link. By the Editorial Team; see our editorial policy and methodology.