MI Home Loan
Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA)
MSHDA first mortgage through participating lenders
- First mortgage Lower rate or first loan
RepaymentRegular monthly payments
Works withRequired for MI 10K DPA
MSHDA's MI Home Loan (640 minimum credit score, $566,355 price cap) and its MI 10K DPA — up to $10,000 at 0%, repaid when you sell or refinance — are the statewide route. The $25,000 First-Generation program many buyers ask about is closed: its funds ran out. Detroit (up to $25,000), Oakland County ($5,000 grant) and Grand Rapids (up to $7,500) add local money.
Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA)
MSHDA first mortgage through participating lenders
RepaymentRegular monthly payments
Works withRequired for MI 10K DPA
Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA)
Up to $10,000 for down payment, closing costs and prepaid expenses
RepaymentInterest-free, no monthly payments; repaid on first-mortgage payoff, sale, refinance or when the home is no longer owner-occupied
Works withMust be combined with an MSHDA MI Home Loan
Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA)
Up to $25,000 (limited-time pilot funded with $8 million)
CLOSED — all funds exhausted; no applications or waitlist
City of Detroit
Up to $25,000 for down payment, prepaids and closing costs
RepaymentTerms from the City (program funded with $9 million in CDBG and CDBG-DR)
Works withPre-qualify with a lender first
Oakland County Treasurer's Office with Independent Bank
$5,000 grant per household
RepaymentGrant
Works withMortgage must be with Independent Bank; buyer contributes at least $1,000
First-come, first-served until funds are exhausted
City of Grand Rapids Community Development
Up to $7,500 for down payment, closing costs and prepaid expenses
RepaymentTerms set by City policy — check with Community Development
MSHDA issues mortgage credit certificates (20% of your mortgage interest back as a tax credit). Michigan's MCC status, sources and calculator.
Amounts, limits and funding change during the year, and many local programs run out of money before the year ends — confirm current terms with the agency or a participating lender before you apply. Spotted an outdated program? Tell us.
What each program's own terms ask of you. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't publish it — the agency or the first-mortgage lender sets it. Most programs count you as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned a home in three years; see the federal definitions and exceptions.
| Program | First-time buyer | Min. credit score | Income limit | Price limit | Homebuyer education |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MI Home Loan | Required statewide (no home owned in the previous three years); repeat buyers allowed in targeted areas | 640 | Household income limits by family size and location (see income-limits/MI.json, effective June 1, 2026) | $566,355 statewide (from June 1, 2026) | Housing education class required with MI 10K DPA |
| MI 10K DPA Loan | Through the MI Home Loan (first-time statewide, repeat buyers in targeted areas) | 640 | MI Home Loan income limits (low and moderate incomes) | $566,355 | Homebuyer education certificate required for all buyers |
| MSHDA First-Generation Down Payment Assistance | First-generation buyers (no ownership in three years and no parent owned a home in three years, or aged out of foster care) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Detroit Down Payment Assistance Program | No home owned in the past three years; lived in Detroit for the past 12 months | Not stated | Under 80% of AMI ($58,700 for one person; $83,850 for four) | Not stated | Homebuyer education class |
| Oakland County Treasurer's Home Buyer Assistance Program | Required (no residential ownership in the past three years) | Not stated | At or below 120% of Oakland County AMI ($127,320 for 2026) | Not stated | Approved pre-purchase counseling |
| Homebuyer Assistance Fund (HAF) | Not stated | Not stated | Low- to moderate-income buyers | Not stated | Not stated |
MSHDA's limits for the MI Home Loan and MI 10K DPA depend on the county, the city or township and household size; targeted areas allow repeat buyers and higher incomes. The sales price limit is $566,355 everywhere. Effective Jun 1, 2026.
| County | Area | Targeted | Income, 1–2 people | Income, 3+ people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alcona | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Alger | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Allegan | Entire County | Yes | $119,520 | $139,440 |
| Alpena | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Antrim | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Arenac | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Baraga | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Barry | Entire County | Yes | $121,200 | $141,400 |
| Bay | City of Bay City, Gibson Twp., Mt. Forest Twp., Pinconning Twp. | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Bay | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| Benzie | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Berrien | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Branch | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Calhoun | City of Albion, City of Battle Creek, Village of Burlington, Lee Twp. | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Calhoun | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| Cass | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Charlevoix | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Cheboygan | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Chippewa | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Clare | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Clinton | City of East Lansing, Lebanon Twp., Village of Maple Rapids, Ovid Twp. | Yes | $123,120 | $143,640 |
| Clinton | Rest of County | No | $102,600 | $117,990 |
| Crawford | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Delta | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Dickinson | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Eaton | Brookfield Twp., City of C harlotte, City of Olivet, Roxand Twp., Village of Vermontville | Yes | $123,120 | $143,640 |
| Eaton | Rest of County | No | $102,600 | $117,990 |
| Emmet | Entire County | Yes | $122,040 | $142,380 |
| Genesee | City of Flint, Genesee Twp., Mount Morris Twp. | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Genesee | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| Gladwin | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Gogebic | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Grand Traverse | Entire County | Yes | $136,680 | $159,460 |
| Gratiot | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Hillsdale | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Houghton | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Huron | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Ingham | Entire County | Yes | $123,120 | $143,640 |
| Ionia | Entire County | Yes | $118,440 | $138,180 |
| Iosco | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Iron | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Isabella | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Jackson | City of Jackson, Pulaski Twp. | Yes | $121,440 | $141,680 |
| Jackson | Rest of County | No | $101,200 | $116,380 |
| Kalamazoo | Entire County | Yes | $129,720 | $151,340 |
| Kalkaska | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Kent | City of Grand Rapids, Village of Kent City, City of Kentwood, Spencer Twp., City of Wyoming | Yes | $127,920 | $149,240 |
| Kent | Rest of County | No | $106,600 | $122,590 |
| Keweenaw | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Lake | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Lapeer | Entire County | Yes | $125,760 | $146,720 |
| Leelanau | Entire County | Yes | $146,520 | $170,940 |
| Lenawee | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Livingston | Cohoctah Twp, Conway Twp, City of Howell, Iosco Twp | Yes | $154,800 | $180,600 |
| Livingston | Rest of County | No | $129,000 | $148,350 |
| Luce | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Mackinac | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Macomb | Harrison Twp., City of Mt. Clemens | Yes | $125,760 | $146,720 |
| Macomb | Rest of County | No | $104,800 | $120,520 |
| Manistee | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Marquette | Entire County | Yes | $119,880 | $139,860 |
| Mason | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Mecosta | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Menominee | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Midland | City of Coleman, Geneva Twp., Greendale Twp., Jas per Twp., Lee Twp., City of Midland, Mills Twp., Mt. Haley Twp. | Yes | $128,640 | $150,080 |
| Midland | Rest of County | No | $107,200 | $123,280 |
| Missaukee | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Monroe | Frenchtown Twp., City of Luna Pier | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Monroe | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| Montcalm | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Montmorency | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Muskegon | City of Muskegon, City of Muskegon Heights | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Muskegon | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| Newaygo | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Oakland | City of Pontiac, Royal Oak Twp., City of Southfield | Yes | $125,760 | $146,720 |
| Oakland | Rest of County | No | $104,800 | $120,520 |
| Oceana | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Ogemaw | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Ontonagon | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Osceola | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Oscoda | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Otsego | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Ottawa | Allendale Twp., Chester Twp., City of Holland | Yes | $136,440 | $159,180 |
| Ottawa | Rest of County | No | $113,700 | $130,755 |
| Presque Isle | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Roscommon | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Saginaw | Brady Twp., Brant Twp., Bridgeport Twp., Chapin Twp., Marion Twp., Village of Merrill, City of Saginaw | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Saginaw | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| Sanilac | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Schoolcraft | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Shiawassee | Fairfield Twp., Hazelton Twp ., City of Laingsburg, Middlebury Twp., City of Owosso | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Shiawassee | Rest of County | No | $98,400 | $113,160 |
| St. Clair | Entire County | Yes | $125,760 | $146,720 |
| St. Joseph | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Tuscola | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Van Buren | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
| Washtenaw | Entire County | Yes | $170,760 | $199,220 |
| Wayne | City of Dearborn, City of Detroit, City of Ecorse, City of Hamtramck, City of Highland Park, City of Inkster, City of Lincoln Park, City of River Rouge, City of Taylor, City of Wayne | Yes | $125,760 | $146,720 |
| Wayne | Rest of County | No | $104,800 | $120,520 |
| Wexford | Entire County | Yes | $118,080 | $137,760 |
Sources: MI Home Loan (and MI 10K DPA) (michigan.gov). Limits are reset every year — check the agency's current table before you apply.
The 10 counties with the most home purchases, priced at each county's median list price. MSHDA MI 10K DPA: up to $10,000. In 7 of 10, the income it takes to carry that home still fits under the program's limit for a household of one or two (larger households get higher limits).
| County | Median list price | Cash to close | MI 10K covers | You still need | Income to afford | MSHDA income limit (1–2 people) | Fits the program? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayne | $163,875 | $9,874 | $9,874 | $0 | $58,000 | $104,800price limit $566,355 | Yes |
| Oakland | $400,000 | $18,138 | $10,000 | $8,138 | $142,000 | $104,800price limit $566,355 | Income needed is above the limit |
| Macomb | $285,000 | $14,113 | $10,000 | $4,113 | $101,000 | $104,800price limit $566,355 | Yes |
| Kent | $380,500 | $17,456 | $10,000 | $7,456 | $135,000 | $106,600price limit $566,355 | Income needed is above the limit |
| Genesee | $217,375 | $11,746 | $10,000 | $1,746 | $77,000 | $98,400price limit $566,355 | Yes |
| Washtenaw | $454,250 | $20,037 | $10,000 | $10,037 | $161,000 | $170,760price limit $566,355 | Yes |
| Ottawa | $477,450 | $20,849 | $10,000 | $10,849 | $170,000 | $113,700price limit $566,355 | Income needed is above the limit |
| Ingham | $199,975 | $11,137 | $10,000 | $1,137 | $71,000 | $123,120price limit $566,355 | Yes |
| Kalamazoo | $326,975 | $15,582 | $10,000 | $5,582 | $116,000 | $129,720price limit $566,355 | Yes |
| Saginaw | $165,000 | $9,913 | $9,913 | $0 | $59,000 | $98,400price limit $566,355 | Yes |
Estimates, not a quote. Median list price: Realtor.com, October 2026. Cash to close = 3.5% down (the FHA minimum) + $4,138, Michigan's average closing costs including transfer taxes (closing costs by state). Income to afford = principal and interest at 7.18% (Freddie Mac 30-year average), the 0.55% FHA annual premium, Michigan's 1.14% effective property tax and 0.43% homeowners insurance, kept within 28% of gross income. The program also has to accept the home and you — see the requirements above.
Prefilled with Michigan's $300,000 median list price, 3.5% down, 1.4% closing costs and MI 10K DPA Loan's terms. Change any field to match your quote.
A deferred loan has no payments, but it is a debt: it is repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage.
30-year fixed first mortgage; monthly figures are principal and interest only. Assistance is capped at your down payment plus closing costs. For the full monthly payment with Michigan's taxes and insurance, use the Michigan mortgage calculator.
Most assistance sits on top of an FHA, VA or USDA loan, or a 97% conventional one. Of the 103,638 conventional, FHA and VA first mortgages made to buy a home in Michigan in 2025, 13.0% were FHA and 5.4% VA, against 18.7% and 9.7% nationally. The median 30-year fixed FHA purchase loan was $215,000 (U.S. $305,000), and those borrowers paid a median $8,379 in total loan costs (U.S. $11,291).
Source: HMDA 2025 loan-level records, first-lien home-purchase originations. HMDA doesn't record whether a borrower is a first-time buyer, and the lenders listed aren't necessarily approved for MSHDA's programs — find those through MSHDA — MI Home Loan lenders.
| Lender | FHA purchase loans | Share |
|---|---|---|
| United Shore Financial Services, LLC | 2,209 | 16.4% |
| Rocket Mortgage, LLC | 1,413 | 10.5% |
| Union Home Mortgage Corp. | 682 | 5.0% |
| Mortgage 1 Incorporated | 547 | 4.0% |
| Preston Home Loans Inc | 425 | 3.1% |
227 lenders made FHA purchase loans in Michigan. Compare them on Michigan mortgage lenders.
MSHDA's First-Generation Down Payment Assistance — a pilot that offered up to $25,000 to first-generation buyers, funded with $8 million. It is closed: MSHDA says all funds have been exhausted, and it isn't taking applications or keeping a waitlist.
The open alternatives are the MI 10K DPA statewide and Detroit's own program of up to $25,000 for city residents.
Oakland County's Treasurer offers a $5,000 grant with Independent Bank financing (income up to 120% of AMI). MSHDA's MI 10K DPA is a 0% loan, not a grant — you repay it when you sell or refinance.
Detroit (up to $25,000) and Grand Rapids (up to $7,500) set their own terms.
Through MSHDA: a first-time buyer (no home owned in three years) — or a repeat buyer in a targeted area — with a 640 credit score, a home under $566,355, homebuyer education and household income under the county limit: $104,800 for one or two people in most of Wayne County, $125,760 in Detroit and other targeted cities.
Not comfortably: with 3.5% down, the payment including FHA premium, Michigan's 1.14% effective property tax and insurance is about $2,488 a month, which needs about $107,000 of income at the 28% rule. A home closer to $140,000 fits a $50,000 salary.
No. It's an interest-free loan with no monthly payments, but you repay it when you pay off the first mortgage, sell, refinance or stop living in the home. It must be paired with an MSHDA MI Home Loan.
How we built this page: each program was read on its official page — the agency's, city's or county's own site, or the Internet Archive's copy of that page where the site blocked our checker — on October 22, 2026, and every amount and limit above appears on the source we link. By the Editorial Team; see our editorial policy and methodology.