Washington first-time buyer programs

First-time home buyer programs in Washington

Washington's help comes from the State Housing Finance Commission, and all of it is a payment-deferred loan rather than a grant: 3% to 5% of the loan at 0% with Home Advantage (no first-time requirement, $215,000 income cap), up to $15,000 with House Key Opportunity, and up to $150,000 through the Covenant Homeownership Program. Seattle (up to $76,000), Bellingham ($40,000) and East King County's ARCH ($30,000) add local loans.

  • 11programs checked on official pages: 8 statewide, 3 city and county
  • $215,000Home Advantage income limit, statewide
  • $28,043cash to close at 3.5% down on the $629,950 median-listed home
  • 13.9%of Washington's first-lien home-purchase loans were FHA in 2025 (U.S. 18.7%)

Down payment assistance in Washington

Checked on official pages on October 22, 2026

Statewide programs

Statewide

Home Advantage (first mortgage)

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

WSHFC first mortgage through Commission-trained lenders

  • First mortgage Lower rate or first loan

RepaymentRegular monthly payments

Works withHome Advantage DPA, Needs-Based DPA, Covenant, HomeChoice, Veterans and local DPA

Statewide

House Key Opportunity (first mortgage)

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

WSHFC first mortgage for first-time buyers with low to moderate incomes

  • First mortgage Lower rate or first loan

RepaymentRegular monthly payments

Works withHouse Key Opportunity DPA and other WSHFC DPA

Statewide

Home Advantage DPA

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

3%, 4% or 5% of the first mortgage

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment0% interest, no monthly payments; due on sale, refinance, transfer, ceasing to live in the home, or payoff (at 30 years or before)

Works withHome Advantage first mortgage only

Statewide

Home Advantage Needs-Based DPA

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

Up to $10,000 (for homes priced under $250,000)

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment1% simple interest, no monthly payments; due on sale, refinance, transfer or payoff

Works withHome Advantage first mortgage; needs assessment (except veterans)

Statewide

House Key Opportunity DPA

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

Up to $15,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment1% simple interest, no monthly payments; due on sale, refinance, transfer or payoff

Works withHouse Key Opportunity first mortgage; needs assessment (except veterans)

Statewide

Covenant Homeownership Program

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

Up to 20% of the home's cost, up to $150,000, plus closing costs

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentDeferred loan (see the Covenant program page for terms and forgiveness rules)

Works withHome Advantage or House Key Opportunity first mortgage

Statewide

HomeChoice DPA

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

Up to $15,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentDeferred loan

Works withHome Advantage or House Key Opportunity first mortgage

Statewide

Veterans Downpayment Assistance Program

Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC)

Up to $10,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment3% interest, deferred

Works withHome Advantage or House Key Opportunity first mortgage

City and county programs

County ARCH member cities in East King County

ARCH Downpayment Assistance (East King County)

A Regional Coalition for Housing (ARCH) with WSHFC

Up to $30,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment4% simple interest, payment-deferred

Works withHome Advantage or House Key Opportunity first mortgage

City City of Bellingham

Bellingham Downpayment Assistance Program

City of Bellingham with WSHFC

Up to $40,000

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

Repayment3% simple interest, payment-deferred

Works withHome Advantage or House Key Opportunity first mortgage

City Seattle city limits

Seattle Office of Housing downpayment assistance (through partner organizations)

City of Seattle Office of Housing; delivered by HomeSight, Parkview Services and other partners

Up to $76,000 per household

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance

RepaymentLow-interest deferred second mortgage (terms vary by partner program)

Works withPartner programs can layer sources (Parkview: up to $110,000 combined)

Mortgage credit certificate

Whether WSHFC still issues mortgage credit certificates isn't confirmed on its current pages. Washington's MCC status, sources and calculator.

Amounts, limits and funding change during the year, and many local programs run out of money before the year ends — confirm current terms with the agency or a participating lender before you apply. Spotted an outdated program? Tell us.

Washington first-time home buyer requirements, program by program

What each program's own terms ask of you. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't publish it — the agency or the first-mortgage lender sets it. Most programs count you as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned a home in three years; see the federal definitions and exceptions.

Washington first-time home buyer requirements, program by program
ProgramFirst-time buyerMin. credit scoreIncome limitPrice limitHomebuyer education
Home Advantage (first mortgage) Not required Not stated Under $215,000 household income statewide, regardless of family size or location Not stated Commission-sponsored homebuyer education class
House Key Opportunity (first mortgage) Required (or no home owned in the last three years), unless buying in a Target Area Not stated County limits by household size (e.g., King/Snohomish $175,000 for 1–2 people; effective Sept. 15, 2025) Acquisition cost limits by county (e.g., King/Pierce/Snohomish $725,000 non-target) Commission-sponsored homebuyer education class
Home Advantage DPA Not required Not stated Up to $215,000 statewide Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
Home Advantage Needs-Based DPA Not required Not stated County-group limits — the Commission's page shows two sets ($164,400 / $126,800 and $157,100 / $122,100 for King-Snohomish / other counties); confirm with a lender Under $250,000 Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
House Key Opportunity DPA Required, or buy in a Target Area Not stated County groups: King/Snohomish $93,350 (1–2 people) / $116,650 (3+); other groups lower (effective June 8, 2026) Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
Covenant Homeownership Program For people with pre-1968 roots in Washington (self, parent or grandparent) who were members of groups affected by housing discrimination Not stated Not stated Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
HomeChoice DPA Required unless buying in a Targeted Area; buyer or a household member has a verified disability Not stated $164,400 (King/Snohomish) / $126,800 (other counties) Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
Veterans Downpayment Assistance Program Military veterans Not stated Not stated Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
ARCH Downpayment Assistance (East King County) Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
Bellingham Downpayment Assistance Program Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Free WSHFC homebuyer education class
Seattle Office of Housing downpayment assistance (through partner organizations) Required (or no home owned in three years; displaced homemakers eligible) Not stated Under 80% of area median income by household size Not stated City-approved pre-purchase education plus one-on-one housing counseling (HomeSight or Parkview Services)

Washington income limits by county

Home Advantage has one statewide limit: household income under $215,000, regardless of size or location. House Key Opportunity and its down payment loan use county groups.

House Key Opportunity income limits (effective Sep 15, 2025)
Counties1–2 people3+ peopleTarget area, 1–2Target area, 3+
King/Snohomish$175,000$200,000$175,000$200,000
Pierce$130,000$155,000$130,000$155,000
Clark/Skamania$118,000$135,000$130,000$150,000
Kitsap$118,000$135,000$130,000$150,000
All other counties$118,000$135,000$130,000$150,000
House Key DPA income limits (effective Jun 8, 2026)
Counties1–2 people3+ people
King/Snohomish$93,350$116,650
Clark/Kitsap/Pierce/Skamania$83,000$103,700
Thurston/Whatcom$78,600$98,250
All other counties$67,450$84,300
House Key maximum acquisition cost (effective Sep 15, 2025)
CountiesOutside target areasTarget areas
Clark/Island/Kitsap$550,000$625,000
Skagit/Skamania/Thurston$550,000$625,000
King/Pierce/Snohomish$725,000$775,000
Whatcom$600,000$675,000
All other counties$500,000$550,000

Sources: Home Advantage (first mortgage and Home Advantage DPA) (heretohome.org); House Key Opportunity first mortgage (heretohome.org). Limits are reset every year — check the agency's current table before you apply.

Will the help cover your down payment in Washington?

The 10 counties with the most home purchases, priced at each county's median list price. WSHFC Home Advantage DPA: up to 5% of the first mortgage at 0%. In 6 of 10, the income it takes to carry that home still fits under the program's limit.

Will the help cover your down payment in Washington?
CountyMedian list priceCash to closeHome Advantage DPA coversYou still needIncome to affordHome Advantage income limitFits the program?
King $842,425 $35,480 $35,480 $0 $283,000 $215,000 Income needed is above the limit
Pierce $625,000 $27,870 $27,870 $0 $210,000 $215,000 Yes
Snohomish $749,975 $32,244 $32,244 $0 $252,000 $215,000 Income needed is above the limit
Spokane $470,852 $22,475 $22,475 $0 $158,000 $215,000 Yes
Clark $619,900 $27,692 $27,692 $0 $208,000 $215,000 Yes
Kitsap $649,500 $28,728 $28,728 $0 $218,000 $215,000 Income needed is above the limit
Thurston $569,500 $25,928 $25,928 $0 $191,000 $215,000 Yes
Benton $499,950 $23,493 $23,493 $0 $168,000 $215,000 Yes
Whatcom $645,000 $28,570 $28,570 $0 $217,000 $215,000 Income needed is above the limit
Yakima $428,213 $20,982 $20,661 $321 $144,000 $215,000 Yes

Estimates, not a quote. Median list price: Realtor.com, October 2026. Cash to close = 3.5% down (the FHA minimum) + $5,995, Washington's average closing costs including transfer taxes (closing costs by state). Income to afford = principal and interest at 7.18% (Freddie Mac 30-year average), the 0.55% FHA annual premium, Washington's 0.81% effective property tax and 0.21% homeowners insurance, kept within 28% of gross income. The program also has to accept the home and you — see the requirements above.

Calculator

Cash to close with and without help in Washington

Prefilled with Washington's $630,000 median list price, 3.5% down, 1% closing costs and Home Advantage DPA's terms. Change any field to match your quote.

Without help$607,950 first mortgage
$28,350cash to close
Down payment
$22,050
Closing costs
$6,300
Monthly payment
$4,118principal + interest
With deferred loan$28,350 of help applied
$0cash to close · $28,350 less
First mortgage payment
$4,118same rate as without help
Total monthly
$4,118
Owed on the help if you sell in year 7
$28,350

Capped at your down payment plus closing costs ($28,350) — the calculator never treats assistance as cash back.

What the help is worth if you sell after 7 years$0
  • Cash it saved at closing+$28,350
  • Still owed on it at the sale−$28,350

A deferred loan has no payments, but it is a debt: it is repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage.

30-year fixed first mortgage; monthly figures are principal and interest only. Assistance is capped at your down payment plus closing costs. For the full monthly payment with Washington's taxes and insurance, use the Washington mortgage calculator.

Low-down-payment loans in Washington

Most assistance sits on top of an FHA, VA or USDA loan, or a 97% conventional one. Of the 80,188 conventional, FHA and VA first mortgages made to buy a home in Washington in 2025, 13.9% were FHA and 10.3% VA, against 18.7% and 9.7% nationally. The median 30-year fixed FHA purchase loan was $435,000 (U.S. $305,000), and those borrowers paid a median $15,456 in total loan costs (U.S. $11,291).

Source: HMDA 2025 loan-level records, first-lien home-purchase originations. HMDA doesn't record whether a borrower is a first-time buyer, and the lenders listed aren't necessarily approved for WSHFC's programs — find those through WSHFC — Commission-trained lenders.

Most FHA purchase loans in Washington, 2025
LenderFHA purchase loansShare
United Shore Financial Services, LLC8437.6%
Guild Mortgage Company8277.4%
CMG Mortgage, Inc.8267.4%
Movement Mortgage, LLC6676.0%
Crosscountry Mortgage, Inc.6175.5%

232 lenders made FHA purchase loans in Washington. Compare them on Washington mortgage lenders.

Washington first-time home buyer FAQ

What grants are available for first-time homebuyers in Washington?

The Commission's programs are loans, not grants: Home Advantage DPA (3%, 4% or 5% of the loan at 0%), Needs-Based ($10,000 at 1%), House Key Opportunity DPA ($15,000 at 1%), HomeChoice ($15,000 for buyers with a disability in the household), Veterans ($10,000 at 3%) and Covenant (up to 20% of the price, $150,000 maximum).

None requires monthly payments; you repay when you sell, refinance or pay off the home.

What are the requirements for a first-time homebuyer loan in Washington State?

For House Key Opportunity: no home owned in three years (unless you buy in a Target Area), income under the county limit — $175,000 for one or two people in King and Snohomish, $118,000 in most counties — a price under $725,000 in King, Pierce and Snohomish ($500,000 in most others) and a Commission homebuyer class. Home Advantage drops the first-time rule.

How much do I need to make to afford a $500,000 house in Washington state?

About $168,000 a year with 3.5% down, if the $3,916 monthly payment — principal, interest, FHA premium, property tax at Washington's 0.81% effective rate and insurance — stays within 28% of gross income — under Home Advantage's $215,000 income cap.

Do you have to be a first-time buyer for Washington down payment assistance?

No. Home Advantage and its 3%–5% DPA, plus the Needs-Based DPA, are open to repeat buyers. House Key Opportunity DPA and HomeChoice require first-time buyers unless you buy in a Target Area. Seattle's city-funded help requires no home owned in the past three years.

More for Washington buyers

How we built this page: each program was read on its official page — the agency's, city's or county's own site, or the Internet Archive's copy of that page where the site blocked our checker — on October 22, 2026, and every amount and limit above appears on the source we link. By the Editorial Team; see our editorial policy and methodology.