New York first-time buyer programs

First-time home buyer programs in New York

SONYMA, the state's mortgage agency, makes 30-year fixed loans with as little as 3% down and adds a Down Payment Assistance Loan of up to $15,000 that is forgiven after 10 years — at the cost of a 0.40% higher rate. New York City's HomeFirst goes much further: up to $100,000 toward the down payment or closing costs for buyers earning up to 120% of area median income. Brookhaven (up to $50,000), Suffolk County's consortium towns (up to $30,000, forgiven after 10 years) and Albany (up to $14,900) add local help.

  • 9programs checked on official pages: 5 statewide, 4 city and county
  • $111,900–$203,520SONYMA income limit (1–2 people), by county
  • $35,260cash to close at 3.5% down on the $614,900 median-listed home
  • 9.0%of New York's first-lien home-purchase loans were FHA in 2025 (U.S. 18.7%)

Down payment assistance in New York

Checked on official pages on October 22, 2026

Statewide programs

Statewide

SONYMA Low Interest Rate Program

State of New York Mortgage Agency (SONYMA), NYS Homes and Community Renewal

30-year fixed-rate mortgage, no points, down payment as low as 3% (3% down payment assistance available)

  • First mortgage Lower rate or first loan

RepaymentRegular monthly payments

Works withBuyer contributes at least 1% cash (3% for co-ops); can be combined with DPAL

Funds limited, first-come, first-served

Statewide

SONYMA Achieving the Dream

SONYMA, NYS Homes and Community Renewal

SONYMA's lowest-rate 30-year fixed mortgage, no points, down payment as low as 3%

  • First mortgage Lower rate or first loan

RepaymentRegular monthly payments

Works withBuyer contributes at least 1% cash (3% for co-ops); can be combined with DPAL

Funds limited, first-come, first-served

Statewide

SONYMA Down Payment Assistance Loan (DPAL)

SONYMA, NYS Homes and Community Renewal

The greater of $3,000 or 3% of the price, up to $15,000

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

Repayment0% interest, no monthly payments, forgiven after 10 years (repayable amount falls 1/120 per month)

Works withOnly with a SONYMA mortgage; adds 0.40% to the first-mortgage rate (not on Graduate to Homeownership, Homes for Veterans or ENERGY STAR loans)

Not every participating lender offers DPAL

Statewide

DPAL Plus 2026

SONYMA, NYS Homes and Community Renewal

Up to $30,000 (enough to bring the first mortgage to 80% LTV)

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

Repayment0% interest, forgiven in equal monthly installments over the first 10 years of occupancy; first-mortgage rate is 0.40% higher

Works withAny SONYMA bond-program purchase mortgage

Limited pool: $7.5 million total

Regional New York (and New Jersey) through FHLBNY member lenders

Homebuyer Dream Program (HDP) Suite

Federal Home Loan Bank of New York, through participating member banks

Grant set by program guidelines (ask a participating member)

  • Grant Never repaid

RepaymentGrant

Works withMortgage from a participating FHLBNY member

2026 rounds open; $31,670,000 allocated on February 9, 2026

City and county programs

City New York City (five boroughs)

HomeFirst Down Payment Assistance Program

NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD)

Up to $100,000 toward the down payment or closing costs

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentForgivable loan; live in the home at least 10 years (loans up to $40,000) or 15 years (larger loans; City-funded loans always 15)

Works withParticipating lender; buyer puts at least 3% of the price from own funds

City Town of Brookhaven (Suffolk County)

Town of Brookhaven HOME Down Payment Assistance Program

Town of Brookhaven (administered with Long Island Housing Partnership)

Up to $50,000 toward down payment and closing costs

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentLive in the home at least 10 years or repay the HOME assistance in full

Works withBuyer meets the lender's minimum down payment

First come, first served until funds are exhausted

County East Hampton, Huntington, Riverhead, Shelter Island, Smithtown, Southampton and Southold (not Babylon, Islip or Brookhaven)

Suffolk County HOME Consortium Down Payment Assistance Program

Suffolk County Office of Community Development

Up to $30,000 toward the down payment (closing costs not covered)

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentZero-interest deferred loan, forgiven after 10 years if the home isn't sold, transferred or rented out

Works withBuyer has at least $3,000 of own funds; first mortgage from a lender

The posted 2024 guidelines set an April 1, 2025 application deadline, while the County's portal still takes the 2024 application first-come, first-served — confirm a current round with the Office of Community Development

City City of Albany

City of Albany down payment and closing cost assistance

Albany Community Development Agency (listed by the Affordable Housing Partnership, a HUD-approved counseling agency)

Up to $14,900, based on need

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentTerms from ACDA

Works withOften combined with home repair funds

Mortgage credit certificate

SONYMA doesn't offer a mortgage credit certificate. New York's MCC status, sources and calculator.

Amounts, limits and funding change during the year, and many local programs run out of money before the year ends — confirm current terms with the agency or a participating lender before you apply. Spotted an outdated program? Tell us.

New York first-time home buyer requirements, program by program

What each program's own terms ask of you. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't publish it — the agency or the first-mortgage lender sets it. Most programs count you as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned a home in three years; see the federal definitions and exceptions.

New York first-time home buyer requirements, program by program
ProgramFirst-time buyerMin. credit scoreIncome limitPrice limitHomebuyer education
SONYMA Low Interest Rate Program Required unless you are an eligible military veteran or buy in a Target Area Not stated Regional income limits by county (see income-limits/NY.json, effective for reservations from July 6, 2026) SONYMA purchase price limits by region Homebuyer education course required
SONYMA Achieving the Dream Required unless you are an eligible military veteran or buy in a Target Area Not stated Lower regional income limits than the Low Interest Rate Program (SONYMA's published ATD table is dated July 25, 2022 — confirm with a lender) SONYMA limits by region Homebuyer education course required
SONYMA Down Payment Assistance Loan (DPAL) Through the SONYMA first mortgage Not stated SONYMA first-mortgage limits SONYMA first-mortgage limits Through the SONYMA first mortgage
DPAL Plus 2026 Required, except veterans (not dishonorably discharged) or homes in federally targeted areas Not stated Household income up to 60% of AMI $500,000 Homebuyer education before loan approval
Homebuyer Dream Program (HDP) Suite Required Not stated Low-to-middle income (program guidelines) Not stated Not stated
HomeFirst Down Payment Assistance Program Required Not stated Up to 120% of AMI ($142,560 for one person; $203,520 for four) Existing homes at or below 95% of HUD's purchase price limits (e.g., Kings $732,000 1-unit) Homebuyer education course from an HPD-approved counseling agency
Town of Brookhaven HOME Down Payment Assistance Program Required Not stated Income-eligible (HOME program) Not stated Not stated
Suffolk County HOME Consortium Down Payment Assistance Program Required (no home owned in the prior three years); waived for honorably discharged U.S. military veterans Not stated 80% of area median income ($87,500 for one person, $124,950 for four in the 2024 guidelines) Appraised value up to $551,000 One-on-one mortgage counseling at a HUD-certified nonprofit agency
City of Albany down payment and closing cost assistance Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

New York income limits by county

SONYMA's Low Interest Rate Program sets income and purchase price limits by county, with higher limits in Target Areas. Effective for reservations from July 6, 2026. Achieving the Dream uses lower limits; DPAL Plus caps income at 60% of area median income.

New York income limits by county
CountyIncome, 1–2 peopleIncome, 3+ peopleTarget area, 1–2Target area, 3+Price limit, 1-familyTarget area price
Albany$123,100$141,565$147,720$172,340$566,350$692,210
Allegany$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Bronx$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Broome$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Cattaraugus$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Cayuga$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Chautauqua$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Chemung$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Chenango$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Clinton$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Columbia$116,800$134,320$140,160$163,520$566,350$692,210
Cortland$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Delaware$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Dutchess$125,900$144,785$151,080$176,260$566,350$692,210
Erie$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Essex$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Franklin$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Fulton$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Genesee$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Greene$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Hamilton$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Herkimer$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Jefferson$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Kings$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Lewis$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Livingston$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Madison$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Monroe$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Montgomery$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Nassau$197,160$230,020$197,160$230,020$1,306,970$1,597,410
New York$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Niagara$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Oneida$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Onondaga$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Ontario$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Orange$125,900$144,785$151,080$176,260$566,350$692,210
Orleans$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Oswego$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Otsego$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Putnam$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Queens$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Rensselaer$123,100$141,565$147,720$172,340$566,350$692,210
Richmond$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Rockland$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Saratoga$123,100$141,565$147,720$172,340$566,350$692,210
Schenectady$123,100$141,565$147,720$172,340$566,350$692,210
Schoharie$123,100$141,565$147,720$172,340$566,350$692,210
Schuyler$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Seneca$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
St. Lawrence$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Steuben$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Suffolk$197,160$230,020$197,160$230,020$1,306,970$1,597,410
Sullivan$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Tioga$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Tompkins$118,000$135,700$141,600$165,200$566,350$692,210
Ulster$117,300$134,895$140,760$164,220$566,350$692,210
Warren$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Washington$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Wayne$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Westchester$203,520$237,440$203,520$237,440$1,306,970$1,597,410
Wyoming$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210
Yates$111,900$128,685$134,280$156,660$566,350$692,210

Sources: SONYMA Low Interest Rate Program (hcr.ny.gov). Limits are reset every year — check the agency's current table before you apply.

Will the help cover your down payment in New York?

The 10 counties with the most home purchases, priced at each county's median list price. SONYMA DPAL: the greater of $3,000 or 3% of the price, up to $15,000. In 2 of 10, the income it takes to carry that home still fits under the program's limit for a household of one or two (larger households get higher limits).

Will the help cover your down payment in New York?
CountyMedian list priceCash to closeDPAL coversYou still needIncome to affordSONYMA income limit (1–2 people)Fits the program?
Suffolk $899,000 $45,203 $15,000 $30,203 $324,000 $197,160price limit $1,306,970 Income needed is above the limit
Nassau $949,000 $46,953 $15,000 $31,953 $342,000 $197,160price limit $1,306,970 Income needed is above the limit
Queens $649,500 $36,471 $15,000 $21,471 $234,000 $203,520price limit $1,306,970 Income needed is above the limit
Erie $279,150 $23,508 $8,375 $15,134 $101,000 $111,900price limit $566,350 Yes
Kings $808,033 $42,019 $15,000 $27,019 $292,000 $203,520price limit $1,306,970 Income needed is above the limit
Westchester $682,000 $37,608 $15,000 $22,608 $246,000 $203,520price limit $1,306,970 Income needed is above the limit
New York $1,385,000 $62,213 $15,000 $47,213 $500,000 $203,520price limit $1,306,970 Price is above the limit
Orange $550,000 $32,988 $15,000 $17,988 $198,000 $125,900price limit $566,350 Income needed is above the limit
Richmond $700,000 $38,238 $15,000 $23,238 $253,000 $203,520price limit $1,306,970 Income needed is above the limit
Bronx $329,000 $25,253 $9,870 $15,383 $119,000 $203,520price limit $1,306,970 Yes

Estimates, not a quote. Median list price: Realtor.com, October 2026. Cash to close = 3.5% down (the FHA minimum) + $13,738, New York's average closing costs including transfer taxes (closing costs by state). Income to afford = principal and interest at 7.18% (Freddie Mac 30-year average), the 0.55% FHA annual premium, New York's 1.41% effective property tax and 0.32% homeowners insurance, kept within 28% of gross income. The program also has to accept the home and you — see the requirements above.

Calculator

Cash to close with and without help in New York

Prefilled with New York's $615,000 median list price, 3.5% down, 2.2% closing costs and SONYMA Down Payment Assistance Loan (DPAL)'s terms, including the 0.40% higher rate that comes with it. Change any field to match your quote.

Without help$593,475 first mortgage
$35,055cash to close
Down payment
$21,525
Closing costs
$13,530
Monthly payment
$4,020principal + interest
With forgivable loan$15,000 of help applied
$20,055cash to close · $15,000 less
First mortgage payment
$4,182+$162 for the higher program rate
Total monthly
$4,182+$162 vs. without help
Owed on the help if you sell in year 10
$0
What the help is worth if you sell after 10 years−$9,017
  • Cash it saved at closing+$15,000
  • Higher program rate (extra payments + balance)−$24,017

Forgiven by year 10, so nothing is owed at a sale in year 10.

SONYMA forgives the DPAL a little each month (1/120 a month over 10 years); the calculator treats it as forgiven at year 10, so if you sell sooner you would owe less than it shows.30-year fixed first mortgage; monthly figures are principal and interest only. Assistance is capped at your down payment plus closing costs. For the full monthly payment with New York's taxes and insurance, use the New York mortgage calculator.

Low-down-payment loans in New York

Most assistance sits on top of an FHA, VA or USDA loan, or a 97% conventional one. Of the 117,420 conventional, FHA and VA first mortgages made to buy a home in New York in 2025, 9.0% were FHA and 3.2% VA, against 18.7% and 9.7% nationally. The median 30-year fixed FHA purchase loan was $325,000 (U.S. $305,000), and those borrowers paid a median $12,546 in total loan costs (U.S. $11,291).

Source: HMDA 2025 loan-level records, first-lien home-purchase originations. HMDA doesn't record whether a borrower is a first-time buyer, and the lenders listed aren't necessarily approved for SONYMA's programs — find those through SONYMA — programs and participating lenders.

Most FHA purchase loans in New York, 2025
LenderFHA purchase loansShare
United Shore Financial Services, LLC1,54514.7%
Premium Mortgage Corporation6816.5%
Rocket Mortgage, LLC6035.7%
Homestead Funding Corp.5885.6%
Crosscountry Mortgage, Inc.5024.8%

139 lenders made FHA purchase loans in New York. Compare them on New York mortgage lenders.

New York first-time home buyer FAQ

Does NY have a down payment assistance program?

Yes. SONYMA's DPAL gives the greater of $3,000 or 3% of the price, up to $15,000, at 0% and forgiven over 10 years; DPAL Plus 2026 adds up to $30,000 for buyers at or below 60% of area median income on homes up to $500,000, from a $7.5 million pool.

New York City's HomeFirst offers up to $100,000, and FHLBNY member banks give Homebuyer Dream Program grants.

What is the income limit for SONYMA in 2026?

For the Low Interest Rate Program, $111,900 for a household of one or two in most upstate counties, $123,100 in Albany, $197,160 in Nassau and Suffolk and $203,520 in New York City and Westchester (more for three or more people and in target areas). These apply to reservations from July 6, 2026.

What disqualifies you from being a first-time home buyer in New York?

For SONYMA, owning a home in the past three years — unless you're an eligible military veteran or buying in a Target Area. You also won't qualify if you own a residential investment property or vacation home and plan to keep it. HomeFirst and DPAL Plus require first-time buyers too.

How much is the NYC HomeFirst down payment assistance?

Up to $100,000 as a forgivable loan toward the down payment or closing costs on a 1–4 family home, condo or co-op in the five boroughs.

You must earn up to 120% of AMI ($142,560 for one person), put in at least 3% of the price from your own funds and live in the home 10 years (loans up to $40,000) or 15 years (larger loans).

What can a $10,000 down payment get you in New York?

At FHA's 3.5% minimum, $10,000 covers the down payment on a home up to about $285,000 — but New York closing costs average $13,738 on top.

SONYMA programs need just 1% of your own cash (3% for co-ops), and a DPAL can cover much of the rest.

More for New York buyers

How we built this page: each program was read on its official page — the agency's, city's or county's own site, or the Internet Archive's copy of that page where the site blocked our checker — on October 22, 2026, and every amount and limit above appears on the source we link. By the Editorial Team; see our editorial policy and methodology.