Texas first-time buyer programs

First-time home buyer programs in Texas

Texas has two state-level sources of help. TDHCA's My First Texas Home (first-time buyers) and My Choice Texas Home (anyone) add 2% to 5% of the loan as a 0% second that is forgiven after three years or repaid when you sell or refinance. TSAHC's Home Sweet Texas and Homes for Texas Heroes add up to 5% as a grant or a loan forgiven after three years, for first-time and repeat buyers. Both start at a 620 credit score. Houston (up to $75,000, new applications on hold), Harris County ($40,000), Austin ($40,000) and Fort Worth ($25,000) add their own money.

  • 9programs checked on official pages: 4 statewide, 5 city and county
  • $101,500–$145,920TDHCA income limit (1–2 people), by county
  • $15,963cash to close at 3.5% down on the $350,000 median-listed home
  • 28.1%of Texas's first-lien home-purchase loans were FHA in 2025 (U.S. 18.7%)

Down payment assistance in Texas

Checked on official pages on October 22, 2026

Statewide programs

Statewide

My First Texas Home

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA)

30-year fixed FHA, VA or USDA first mortgage plus down payment help of 2% to 5% of the loan, funding permitting

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance
  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentDPA at 0% interest, no monthly payments: either a 30-year deferred loan due on sale, refinance, transfer or payoff, or a 3-year loan forgiven after 36 months

Works withTDHCA FHA, VA or USDA first mortgage

Statewide

My Choice Texas Home

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA)

30-year fixed FHA, VA, USDA or conventional first mortgage plus down payment help of 2% to 5% of the loan, funding permitting

  • Deferred loan Repaid when you sell or refinance
  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentDPA at 0% interest, no monthly payments: 30-year deferred (due on sale, refinance, transfer or payoff) or 3-year forgivable

Works withTDHCA FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie Mae HFA Preferred or Freddie Mac HFA Advantage first mortgage

Statewide

Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Program

Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC)

Up to 5% of the loan amount for the down payment and closing costs

  • Grant Never repaid
  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentYour choice: a grant that never has to be repaid, or a second loan forgiven after three years if you don't sell, refinance or move out

Works withTSAHC fixed-rate first mortgage from a participating lender

Statewide

Homes for Texas Heroes Home Loan Program

Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC)

Up to 5% of the loan amount for the down payment and closing costs

  • Grant Never repaid
  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentYour choice: a grant that never has to be repaid, or a second loan forgiven after three years if you don't sell, refinance or move out

Works withTSAHC fixed-rate first mortgage from a participating lender

City and county programs

County Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano and Williamson counties (Capital Area HFC); Harris County HFC service area (excluding Baytown, Deer Park, Friendswood, Houston, La Porte, League City, Missouri City, Pasadena and Pearland); City of McKinney

TDHCA partner gift funds (bonus down payment gifts)

TDHCA with local housing finance corporations

Varies by partner

  • Grant Never repaid

RepaymentGift — used with TDHCA down payment assistance

Works withTDHCA down payment assistance programs

City City of Houston

Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP)

City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department

Up to $75,000, based on financial need, for down payment, closing costs, principal or rate reduction

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentForgivable loan

Works withFirst mortgage from a lender; property in City of Houston

On hold: applications without pre-approval paused for limited funding (per the City's Homebuyer Hub)

County Unincorporated Harris County (qualifying census tracts)

Down Payment Assistance Program (DAP)

Harris County Housing & Community Development

Up to $40,000

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentTerms in the county's DAP guidebook — check with the agency

Works withFirst mortgage from a DAP participating lender; buyer contributes at least $1,000

New guidebook in development (per the county page)

City City of Austin full-purpose city limits

Down Payment Assistance Program

City of Austin Housing Department

Up to $40,000 for down payment and closing costs

  • Other terms Repayment terms: check the agency

RepaymentTerms set by the City — check with Austin Housing

Works withLoan officer registered and trained by Austin Housing

City Fort Worth city limits

Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP)

City of Fort Worth Neighborhood Services

Up to $25,000 for down payment and closing costs

  • Forgivable loan Forgiven if you stay

RepaymentInterest-free, no payments; forgivable if you live in the home 10 years (up to $25,000) or 5 years (up to $14,999)

Works withFirst-lien mortgage from a City-approved lender; buyer pays $1,000 or 2% of price, whichever is less

Mortgage credit certificate

TDHCA and TSAHC issues mortgage credit certificates (15% of your mortgage interest back as a tax credit). Texas's MCC status, sources and calculator.

Amounts, limits and funding change during the year, and many local programs run out of money before the year ends — confirm current terms with the agency or a participating lender before you apply. Spotted an outdated program? Tell us.

Texas first-time home buyer requirements, program by program

What each program's own terms ask of you. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't publish it — the agency or the first-mortgage lender sets it. Most programs count you as a first-time buyer if you haven't owned a home in three years; see the federal definitions and exceptions.

Texas first-time home buyer requirements, program by program
ProgramFirst-time buyerMin. credit scoreIncome limitPrice limitHomebuyer education
My First Texas Home Required (no owned and occupied home in the last three years); exceptions for qualified veterans and homes in targeted census tracts 620 TDHCA county/area income limits (100% AMFI for 1–2 people, 115% for 3+; higher in targeted tracts) TDHCA purchase price limits by area HUD-certified homebuyer education for all borrowers
My Choice Texas Home Not required — open to first-time buyers, repeat buyers and qualified veterans 620 TDHCA income limits No purchase price limit Homebuyer education for all borrowers
TDHCA partner gift funds (bonus down payment gifts) Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Program Not required — first-time and repeat buyers with low or moderate incomes 620640 for FHA manual underwriting Low- and moderate-income limits by county (higher in targeted areas) Not stated Approved homebuyer education course
Homes for Texas Heroes Home Loan Program Not required — for educators, police officers, firefighters, EMS, county jailers, correctional officers and military veterans 620640 for FHA manual underwriting Low- and moderate-income limits by county (higher in targeted areas) Not stated Approved homebuyer education course
Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP) Required Not stated 80% of AMI (CDBG-funded) or 120% of AMI (TIRZ-funded) Not stated 8-hour homebuyer education course with a HUD-approved agency before applying
Down Payment Assistance Program (DAP) Required (no home owned for three years) 580 Income-qualified; front-end ratio up to 39%, DTI up to 42%; liquid assets up to $30,000 $285,000 existing home / $296,000 new construction Homeownership education from a HUD-approved provider
Down Payment Assistance Program Required (no home owned in the last three years; displaced or divorced buyers may qualify) Not stated At or below 80% of Median Family Income $440,000 Homebuyer education classes required
Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP) Required (or no home owned in the last three years); displaced homeowners may qualify Not stated Not stated Up to 95% of the area median sales price (HOME rule) HUD-certified homebuyer education

Texas income limits by county

TDHCA's limits for My First Texas Home (and the Texas MCC) depend on the area and household size; homes in a targeted census tract get higher limits. Counties not listed use the balance-of-state row. Effective Jul 13, 2026.

Texas income limits by county
AreaCountiesIncome, 1–2 peopleIncome, 3+ peopleTargeted, 1–2Targeted, 3+Price limitTargeted price
Balance of state (all counties not listed)All counties not listed$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Amarillo, HMFAArmstrong, Carson, Potter, Randall$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Andrews CountyAndrews$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Austin County, HMFAAustin$104,000$119,600——$566,354—
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, MSABastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Travis, Williamson$134,400$154,560$161,280$188,160$598,019$730,912
Atascosa County, HMFAAtascosa$104,725$120,434$125,670$146,616$583,580$713,265
Blanco CountyBlanco$106,700$122,705——$566,354—
Borden CountyBorden$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Brazoria County, HMFABrazoria$126,000$144,900——$566,354—
Burnet CountyBurnet$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Cooke CountyCooke$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Crane CountyCrane$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Dallas, HMFACollin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hunt, Kaufman, Rockwall$121,100$139,265$145,320$169,540$589,596$720,617
Fayette CountyFayette$101,500$126,845——$566,354—
Fort Worth - Arlington, HMFAJohnson, Parker, Tarrant$110,300$126,845$132,360$154,420$589,596$720,617
Gillespie CountyGillespie$109,300$125,695——$566,354—
Glasscock CountyGlasscock$145,920$170,240——$850,703—
Hartley CountyHartley$105,600$121,440——$566,354—
Hemphill CountyHemphill$114,400$131,560——$566,354—
Hood County, HMFAHood$106,000$121,900——$566,354—
Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, HMFAChambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller$104,000$119,600$124,800$145,600$566,354$692,211
Jackson CountyJackson$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Kendall County, HMFAKendall$139,700$160,655——$583,580—
Kent CountyKent$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
King CountyKing$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Lampasas CountyLampasas$106,300$122,245——$566,354—
Lipscomb CountyLipscomb$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Loving CountyLoving$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Martin County, HMFAMartin$103,300$118,795——$566,354—
Medina County, HMFAMedina$104,725$120,434——$583,580—
Mitchell CountyMitchell$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Midland, HMFAMidland$108,900$125,235——$566,354—
Odessa MSAEctor$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Oldham County, HMFAOldham$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Pecos CountyPecos$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Reagan CountyReagan$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Roberts CountyRoberts$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
San Angelo MSAIrion, Tom Green$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
San Antonio-New Braunfels, HMFABandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Wilson$104,725$120,434$125,670$146,616$583,580$713,265
Schleicher CountySchleicher$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Sherman-Denison, MSAGrayson$101,500$116,725$121,800$142,100$566,354$692,211
Somervell County, HMFASomervell$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Stonewall CountyStonewall$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Washington CountyWashington$101,600$116,840——$566,354—
Ward CountyWard$101,500$116,725——$566,354—
Wise County, HMFAWise$112,300$129,145——$589,596—
Yoakum CountyYoakum$101,500$116,725——$566,354—

Sources: My First Texas Home and Texas Mortgage Credit Certificate (government loans) (welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov). Limits are reset every year — check the agency's current table before you apply.

Will the help cover your down payment in Texas?

The 10 counties with the most home purchases, priced at each county's median list price. My First Texas Home: up to 5% of the loan, funding permitting. In 0 of 10, the income it takes to carry that home still fits under the program's limit for a household of one or two (larger households get higher limits).

Will the help cover your down payment in Texas?
CountyMedian list priceCash to closeTDHCA coversYou still needIncome to affordTDHCA income limit (1–2 people)Fits the program?
Harris $329,450 $15,244 $15,244 $0 $124,000 $104,000price limit $566,354 Income needed is above the limit
Bexar $289,950 $13,861 $13,861 $0 $109,000 $104,725price limit $583,580 Income needed is above the limit
Tarrant $364,995 $16,488 $16,488 $0 $138,000 $110,300price limit $589,596 Income needed is above the limit
Collin $517,500 $21,826 $21,826 $0 $195,000 $121,100price limit $589,596 Income needed is above the limit
Dallas $383,575 $17,138 $17,138 $0 $145,000 $121,100price limit $589,596 Income needed is above the limit
Denton $472,495 $20,250 $20,250 $0 $178,000 $121,100price limit $589,596 Income needed is above the limit
Montgomery $382,500 $17,101 $17,101 $0 $144,000 $104,000price limit $566,354 Income needed is above the limit
Travis $499,000 $21,178 $21,178 $0 $188,000 $134,400price limit $598,019 Income needed is above the limit
Fort Bend $429,500 $18,746 $18,746 $0 $162,000 $104,000price limit $566,354 Income needed is above the limit
Williamson $414,950 $18,236 $18,236 $0 $156,000 $134,400price limit $598,019 Income needed is above the limit

Estimates, not a quote. Median list price: Realtor.com, October 2026. Cash to close = 3.5% down (the FHA minimum) + $3,713, Texas's average closing costs including transfer taxes (closing costs by state). Income to afford = principal and interest at 7.18% (Freddie Mac 30-year average), the 0.55% FHA annual premium, Texas's 1.52% effective property tax and 0.66% homeowners insurance, kept within 28% of gross income. The program also has to accept the home and you — see the requirements above.

Calculator

Cash to close with and without help in Texas

Prefilled with Texas's $350,000 median list price, 3.5% down, 1.1% closing costs and My First Texas Home's terms. Change any field to match your quote.

Without help$337,750 first mortgage
$16,100cash to close
Down payment
$12,250
Closing costs
$3,850
Monthly payment
$2,288principal + interest
With deferred loan$16,100 of help applied
$0cash to close · $16,100 less
First mortgage payment
$2,288same rate as without help
Total monthly
$2,288
Owed on the help if you sell in year 7
$16,100

Capped at your down payment plus closing costs ($16,100) — the calculator never treats assistance as cash back.

What the help is worth if you sell after 7 years$0
  • Cash it saved at closing+$16,100
  • Still owed on it at the sale−$16,100

A deferred loan has no payments, but it is a debt: it is repaid when you sell, refinance or pay off the first mortgage.

30-year fixed first mortgage; monthly figures are principal and interest only. Assistance is capped at your down payment plus closing costs. For the full monthly payment with Texas's taxes and insurance, use the Texas mortgage calculator.

Low-down-payment loans in Texas

Most assistance sits on top of an FHA, VA or USDA loan, or a 97% conventional one. Of the 344,307 conventional, FHA and VA first mortgages made to buy a home in Texas in 2025, 28.1% were FHA and 12.8% VA, against 18.7% and 9.7% nationally. The median 30-year fixed FHA purchase loan was $285,000 (U.S. $305,000), and those borrowers paid a median $11,020 in total loan costs (U.S. $11,291).

Source: HMDA 2025 loan-level records, first-lien home-purchase originations. HMDA doesn't record whether a borrower is a first-time buyer, and the lenders listed aren't necessarily approved for TDHCA's programs — find those through TDHCA — participating lenders.

Most FHA purchase loans in Texas, 2025
LenderFHA purchase loansShare
DHI Mortgage Company, Ltd.10,20710.5%
Lennar Mortgage, LLC8,3868.7%
United Shore Financial Services, LLC6,7146.9%
CMG Mortgage, Inc.2,9233.0%
Rocket Mortgage, LLC2,6552.7%

502 lenders made FHA purchase loans in Texas. Compare them on Texas mortgage lenders.

Texas first-time home buyer FAQ

What are the down payment assistance grants available in Texas?

TSAHC's Home Sweet Texas and Homes for Texas Heroes give up to 5% of the loan as a grant that never has to be repaid (or, if you choose, a loan forgiven after three years).

TDHCA's 3-year option is a 0% second forgiven after 36 months, and TDHCA adds partner gift funds in nine Central Texas counties, the Harris County HFC area and McKinney.

Fort Worth's up to $25,000 and Houston's up to $75,000 are forgivable loans; Harris County's and Austin's $40,000 come with the terms in their program guides.

What disqualifies you as a first-time home buyer in Texas?

Owning and living in a home as your primary residence at any point in the past three years — TDHCA counts a non-purchasing spouse too. Two exceptions: qualified veterans, and homes in a targeted census tract.

My Choice Texas Home and TSAHC's two programs have no first-time rule at all, so a past owner can still get help.

How much do I need to make to afford a $300,000 house in Texas?

About $113,000 a year with 3.5% down, if the $2,639 monthly payment — principal, interest, FHA premium, property tax at Texas' 1.52% effective rate and insurance — stays within 28% of gross income.

TDHCA's income limit is $101,500 for a household of one or two in most counties, higher in big metros.

How much do I need to make to buy a $400,000 house in Texas?

About $151,000 a year on the same terms ($3,518 a month). At $400,000, My First Texas Home is open in every county — its non-targeted price limit is $566,354 or more — but the household must fit the county's income limit.

What credit score do you need for first-time home buyer programs in Texas?

620 for TDHCA's My First Texas Home and My Choice Texas Home (middle score) and for TSAHC's programs (640 with FHA manual underwriting). Harris County's Down Payment Assistance Program accepts 580.

The Houston, Austin and Fort Worth program pages don't state a minimum, so the first-mortgage lender's floor applies.

Is $10,000 enough for a down payment on a house in Texas?

On an FHA loan, $10,000 covers 3.5% down on a home up to about $285,000 — but closing costs average $3,713 in Texas on top. TDHCA's 2%–5% second can cover much of that gap.

More for Texas buyers

How we built this page: each program was read on its official page — the agency's, city's or county's own site, or the Internet Archive's copy of that page where the site blocked our checker — on October 22, 2026, and every amount and limit above appears on the source we link. By the Editorial Team; see our editorial policy and methodology.